Gig Review #12 Twisterella 2019

It was that time of year Twisterella Festival was here. I headed down to TSOne early for the first pint of the day and to check out Heel Turn who certainly started the day with a band. Vibrating bass lines grunge and punk influenced guitar topped of with Dale Husbands creative vocal style. Was the perfect way to start the day. I then made my way to Nel Unlit I got to the venue to an incredibly red stage and to see nine band members packed on the stage. Nine members and they still all manage to stand out and bring something different to the sound. An almost hypnotic sound with beautiful story telling in the mix. After them I choose to catch Cherry Head, Cherry Heart one of my days first clash. I did enjoy the songs that I managed to catch. An acoustic duo with a tone of on stage chemistry singing upbeat pop music. Perfect harmonies and acoustic tunes you can dance too. I made my way to Newcastle duo Talk Like Tigers who had a few people dancing to there electro pop music. If you like live music with plenty of synth than these are for you. They finished the set with the latest two singles which had me singing along. Ghost//Signals were on now and The Townhouse was packed out for them. Bringing the dark side of indie pop they certainly went down well and it was the perfect venue for them. Pit Pony were on now and this is the first band I haven’t seen before. I walked into another packed out venue whilst the band were starting the set. The music was loud with plenty of anger behind it but still manages to keep a solid rhythm behind it all. Komparrison was my choice from the pop up stages. The venue The Twisted Lip has a very cosy vibe which made it the perfect time to listen to this duo play. Chilled music with story’s of relationships, Pain, Anger and McDonald’s these are always one to watch out for at these festivals. After them I went to catch The Vegan Leather a favorite of mine the bands style is something I can easy get behind. Every song is so much fun to listen to and the live performance sounds huge. Like the attitude and front of The Talking Heads meets the disco rhythm of The Bee Gees. After that I caught Agoraphobia who were next on the card and this defines everything I love about rock music tight and stand out riffs powerful rock vocals and an hard hitting rhythm section. Martha Hill hit the stage with her band and once again put on one hell of a show. Harmonies were spot on as always great music that anyone can relate to. It’s hard to not appreciate everything that she puts into her shows and music. Then it was time for Peaness who I have been wanting to see in such A long time. The live performance is spot on they have really created an upbeat indie pop sound that anyone can get behind. They had a few of the fans singing and dancing to almost every word one of my favorites of the day. The Pearl Harts were up next and this was another act I was excited for. Riff heavy blues rock are the word I think of when it comes to this band. They played songs new and some of the classics from the album Glitter and Spit. The perfect headliners for the TSOne stage. I walked in during Pom Poko‘s set and I am glad that I did. The music has a huge party vibe a lot of quirkiness and was excited and incredibly upbeat. At one point the whole room felt like it was shaking. Saint Agnes gave us something different to say the least. A dark and loud set with heavy riffs and an overall chilling vibe. The singer know how work the stage and crowd and really got everyone behind them. I felt myself getting hooked to every single note. Another fantastic headline slot. Dylan Cartilage was my final act of the day someone who is no stranger to the festival. This time he headlined absolutely made the most of it. Dylan’s music since the last time he played the festival has evolved into something special heavy of the bass and groove with more catchy hooks. Dylan and the band really closed the show off in style.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started